Plateaus are Dog Shit

Long time, no see.

Tis the season of excessive business and plans with people I otherwise never see or hear from the other 10 months of the year, and I’ve been a bit too swept up with life to think of and/or write content for you guys.  You’ll have to forgive me for that since I do this blog for my own enjoyment anyway.  A day-belated Merry Christmas to all who celebrate it, and happy whatever to anyone who doesn’t.  

What I’ve Been Up To

I’ve still been diligently pursuing my skinny body.  I found my collarbones a few weeks ago.  Before now, I’d never seen nor felt them before; even when I was thinner in high school my body composition never allowed me to see them.  I’ve always been very busty, so a lot of my body fat accumulated in my chest area.  Needless to say, finding them was super cool and I took a bunch of pictures.  Maybe I’ll upload some once they stick out more.

This whole losing weight thing, now that I’ve lost a pretty substantial amount (26 pounds!) feels like a treasure hunt – unbury and identify the body parts!  It’s a lot of fun, and that keeps me going just as much (if not more) than the number on the scale.  Speaking of…

I’ve Plateaued.

It finally happened.  I knew it would eventually.  I was doing so well.  With the exception of Thanksgiving and Christmas, I have not gone over calorie a single time.  Mind you, holidays were a conscious decision.  As many of you know, I opted out of cheat days because I don’t believe you can cheat your diet.  You can only cheat yourself.  As a trade-off, I decided to allow myself whatever I desired on holidays and birthdays so long as I behaved every day for the entire month previously.  Extreme? Maybe.  But it works for me and I have iron discipline.  I don’t really recommend this to anyone since over-restriction can cause you to feel deprived and lead to binges.  Not the case for me, since I generally don’t enjoy eating much anyway, so it works.  But you do you, boo boo.

But yes.

Despite my dedication and constant use of the food scale, I’m still human and not exempt from the dreaded plateau.  My plateau began on December 7th, and since then, I’ve been stuck bouncing between the same 1.5 pounds.  It’ll pass eventually, and I’m doing all I can to facilitate weight loss.  I just have to wait for my body to stop throwing a tantrum and get its shit together.  That’s what I keep telling myself.

To combat the stress of the plateau, I’ve stopped weighing daily.  I only weigh in once (sometimes twice) a week now.  I’m hoping after Christmas my body will have the sudden realization that food is plentiful and we don’t need to shut down on losing weight, but we’ll see.  I’m patient.  I can wait.  Do your thing, man.  We’re gonna be putting on my tiny pants sooner or later whether you like it or not; you may as well make it more comfortable for the both of us.

Unrelated End Note:  I’m planning on posting some non-weight related content soon, so I’m sorry if that’s the only thing you’re here for.  Except I’m not.  I’m not sorry at all.  This is my brain dump.  Get out of my swamp.

Leave a Reply

